Spring in the Air! On Second Thoughts, Lie Down.

I’m back to my old routine; a sign, perhaps, that Spring is in the air. 

It’s much better to write to a plan. And my preferred plan is three hours writing between six and nine o’clock, and then stop for the day. More than three hours a day might be heroic, but only in the ‘Charge of the Light Brigade’ manner. Three hours creativity is about the maximum for one day. The rest of the time one can always research, revise, or edit, but far better if one does something else. Go for a walk, or do some cleaning, or a job of work. 

The fact is, most of us can only manage three hours a day. We might type away for four or five or more, but the quality will fall off. This is a hard lesson to learn. One can be typing away, thinking, “I’m on a roll!”, but not see the cliff. For every hour over the three spent frenetically typing, on a kind of high, expect two undoing the damage. And I do mean damage. I am a pretty prolific writer, but really, I keep my actual creative work within controled limits. 

And the other reason for not lapsing into writerholicism is that it can seriously damage your sleeping pattern. In effect, writing is like dreaming awake. It is a trance state. Too much writing and you can find it hard to sleep at night. Trust me, I’ve been there! 

As I hinted earlier, Winter plays havoc with my writing routine. I suppose it’s a variant of ‘S.A.D.’ – Seasonal Affective Disorder. I think I’ll buy one of those daylight bulbs. Yes, that will do it. 

About Zoe Nightingale

I am a writer of short stories, novels, poetry and non fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

